Medical issues and werewolves

This is the place for discussion and voting on various aspects of werewolf life, social ideas, physical appearance, etc. Also a place to vote on how a werewolf should look.
Kveldulf
Pack Member
Pack Member

Medical issues and werewolves

Post by Kveldulf »

I'm a medical student myself, so some of the things that have come up have really engaged my attention and imagination in regards to werewolves.

Cancer - I think it's unlikely because of the complete nature of the shift and probable hyper-immune systems. I would believe it if someone told me that there were very rare (or even only werewolf-specific) forms of cancer that we *could* get, but since we basically do a whole reset down to the DNA every time we change, it would have to be a rare unfortunate thing indeed.

Most bacteria and viruses - we're presuming unlikely, because, again, improved immune systems. Plus, the molecular and cellular-levels alteration in the change would stop most pathogens dead in their tracks.